UK Life – Week One

UKOne week ago, I was still in the good ol’ US of A, contemplating what life might be like living in Hereford, Herefordshire. I remember taking a walk on the streets near my mom’s house in South Carolina, trying to wrap my brain around a new way of doing things. Would it be that different? What will the people be like? What will the days hold?

And now I’m here. Yes my friends, I live in a shire. On a shire? I don’t know. The language hasn’t been a barrier, but there have been a few laughs thus far about things. “Are you ok?” is a simple hello. One of my “mates” called a crosswalk a “zebra crossing” last night. It’s just things that I find cute.

There’s a lot more preparation involved with living life in Hereford. But all those months spent as a pedestrian and cyclist when my car broke down last year have definitely prepared me for trips to town and grocery shopping here. And the town is wonderful. I’m quite a romantic at heart and the fact that most of the buildings that line the streets are older than my home country is, indeed, lovely. I mean, I live in an old church. Like, how amazing is that?

I haven’t really even been here a full week, but I’m more than certain that living here and being part of Academy this year is exactly where I need to be. It’s been an interesting journey to get here, but God always makes a way when He wants something accomplished. I truly feel at home. And that’s something that’s always easy to say when one first arrives in a new place (if you’re adventurous like I am). Of course, I’m sure I’ll have those abrupt moments of realizing I’m not in Kansas anymore, but as for right now, this UK life is pretty great.

Tomorrow I’ll attend my first Freedom service and I’m beyond excited. This first week of Academy classes (for me), especially my worship class, absolutely solidified I’m on the right track. I’m looking forward to a lot of challenges, but I’m grateful to already know that I’m surrounded by amazing people who are ready to go through those challenges too. I just can’t wait to learn, to grow, to live, to serve. My heart is overflowing.

As I’ve said, this is all very exciting, but there’s still a lot to do. I’m still praying for about another $7000 to come in for the year. I am extremely blown away by the donations that have come in over the last couple of months. It’s only a God thing…a God thing by way of many willing, generous people. Daily life is, however, expensive over here. Please keep praying with me that I see the rest of the funds come in soon.

If you are at all feeling like giving financially, this is the website to do so: http://youcaring.com/nextstopfreedom

Thank you so very much for your continued prayer and support! The best is absolutely yet to come and I can’t wait to share the miracles.

Leave a Reply

