Roulette

roulette-wheel

I’m not about to presume that God’s a gambling man. In fact, I’m sure even the idea of that being possible is considered blasphemy to most “Christians.” But there is something that I find fascinating about both God and gambling: the odds.

If we’re talking about gambling, I can pretty much guarantee that the odds aren’t usually in your favor. It’s that one-in-some-crazy-number chance that you’re going to win anything. And if you’ve won something, you’ll most likely blow it because you took another chance trying to win more. Gambling, in the card-playing, wheel-spinning, bet-making sense gives me anxiety just thinking about it.

Now if we’re talking about God, in any given tough situation, it only appears that the odds aren’t exactly in your favor. But the truth of the matter is, God has yet to lose. In the past several weeks, no days…actually, hours, I truly feel like one of those roulette balls. God was like, “Hey! I want you to go move across the world to go work with a church! And not next year like you were thinking, but actually now! Like in a few weeks. You don’t have the money, you actually won’t be able to make any money, but that’s okay because I want to show you that I’m a God of more than you can imagine!”

God made a couple of bets with me, like that He wouldn’t fail. The wheel is now in full motion and I’m the little ball, bouncing around the numbers. God knows the outcome, but I’m obviously a little more than concerned.

Paul says of Abraham, “In hope he believed against hope, that he should become the father of many nations.” (Romans 4:18) I’m pretty sure that was an impossible bet if I’ve ever seen one. A barren, 80 year old wife, and you’re 100 yourself. I mean, seriously. No odds in that couple’s favor.

And yet…

“No unbelief made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith, as he gave glory to God, fully convinced (FULLY) that God was able to do what He had promised.” (Romans 4:20-21)

I think God actually gets a kick out of impossible odds. Not like it’s a challenge, but it becomes a way for us to see what He’s really made of. And it is obviously a way for us to grow significantly in our faith.

Odds in His favor or not, He’s still God. The God of the impossible. The God of immeasurably more.

 

You can donate to my Academy campaign #NextStopFreedom, here: https://fundly.com/next-stop-freedom#

Leave a Reply

