Not my will, but Yours

Sometimes life throws us curveballs. However, it’s comforting to remember God knew they were coming all along. Reading through the story of Jesus praying in the garden before his betrayal, I’m reminded that He went through every emotion we can or will ever feel. There’s nothing He won’t understand. Faced with death, which is a far more desperate circumstance
than I find myself, He cries out:

“Abba, Father, all things are possible for You. Remove this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.” (Mark 14:36)

There have been some seasons I felt tossed into. And after being tossed in, I got a little tossed around. It’s hard to find any kind of reprieve in those times; no moment to recover. Of course I want to, and often will scream, “God! Get me out of this!”
The truth of the matter is, He might not. It might be difficult. It might be challenging. It may tug on every emotion and press down on every fear. I must get to the point where I can pray, “not my will, but Yours, Lord.”
As my amazing pastor Perry reminded us a few weeks ago, God may not deliver you from it, but He will always deliver you through it.
In one crazy way or another, that, itself, is comfort enough.

Leave a Reply

