Someday

I wonder about this concept of someday.

Has it ever intrigued you? It’s this distant, nearly cosmic idea of what might be. Human beings live for the someday. We get wrapped up in becoming it, yet with such fickle irony, we rarely amount to the very thing we hope to be.

Someday I will travel the world

Someday I will be out of debt

Someday I will own a home

The list goes on and on. Without realizing it, we’ve lost sight of the importance of right now. At least I have. Someday has no guarantee. It isn’t that we need to stop dreaming. In fact, I’m reading an incredible book right now by Erwin McManus titled Wide Awake. It’s a book I truly needed to teach me how to dream again. We wouldn’t have invention without dreams.

I find, especially in American society, someday is an excuse to not do anything with what we have in front of us. Blame it on immediate gratification, on the microwave, on the American Dream.

Be honest with yourself: In life, how many goals have you set? How many resolutions have you made? And now tell me, how many times have you said, “I will start _____ tomorrow.” Now go ahead and break down the proportions of what you have accomplished out of all the resolutions you said you’d begin tomorrow. Have you achieved any of them? I sure haven’t.

It is great to dream and to talk about the someday, but if you’re only waiting to begin someday tomorrow, you never will. Someday, in other words, your objective, goals, ambitions all have to start today. Life is in front of each of us right now. This moment is essentially all we have. So what are we doing with it? In his book, Erwin McManus says, “If God gives you a dream for your life, it will come to pass if you choose to courageously pursue it, not because you become a salesman for it.”

I’m tired of living in someday. If I can see the future in my mind, I need to be doing whatever I can to discover the path of how to get there. Someday is merely a map, a trajectory of action. But a map is pointless if you’re not using it. Old maps hang on walls. They’re placed under glass in museums. Sure, they’re interesting to look at, to think about the people who used them to find new worlds. But they wouldn’t have found those new worlds if they sat there looking at the paper and never followed the trail.

We have to stop sitting around looking at lines on paper. Gain the strength to get up off the couch, find the money to buy the boat and compass, gain the skills to sail, set your course and go. As long as you keep looking to be fulfilled by the thoughts of someday, you’re essentially living in Zeno’s Dichotomy Paradox, never fully arriving at your destination.

Delete the “someday” and begin with “I will” and see how much more you accomplish.

Make it real: make it now.

Leave a Reply

