Faith in Trial

As this year is coming to a close, I have kept up with my annual ritual of reading through my journal to see where I was one, even two years prior. A lot has inspired me reading through the entries. I’ve mourned mistakes but also rejoiced in revelation. I came across a word study I did on Romans 5:1-5 and it seems to be something I really needed to be reminded of.

The KJV says:

Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ: by whom also we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God.

And not only so, but we glory in tribulations also: knowing that tribulation worketh patience; and patience, experience; and experience, hope; and hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given to us.

After studying out the Greek a little bit, this was my takeaway:

Now being made right, freed and made innocent by my reliance upon Jesus I can be at rest with God. It’s also through this reliance upon Jesus, Him being my everything, that I’ve been granted admission to approach God, even that I have been called to Him.

And if this wasn’t great enough, through the pressure, burdens, through a narrowing of the road, creating a worn out track works endurance, consistency, and breeds an attitude to continue, wait patiently, and stand with fortitude. This proves what I’m made of, which brings me to a confidence that God can work anything.

I anticipate the unbelievable with great expectation. And because it’s been worked in me, my confidence in Him and His will won’t dishonor or bring shame along the way. His faithfulness and incomprehensible love pours over me with these things, spilling out of His heart – the heart of my Father.

Jesus not only set me free, He also allowed me to have a relationship directly with God. Not only did He give me a direct relationship with God, He also gave me His Holy Spirit to be with me and work through any and every trial I face. Not only did He send the Holy Spirit and prove His character, but He also poured out His unending love on me. He poured out His unending love by setting me free.

What a beautiful picture of the gift we have in Jesus.

The Word: living and active.

Leave a Reply

