Define “Easy”

The last hour has been pretty awesome. I finally hit the Gospels on my journey through the Bible in 90 days. Ironically, I always fall behind on Sundays, so I just caught up, finishing Matthew and moving on through Mark.
The Lord is so faithful to illuminate things with a new light when I ask for fresh revelation. I’ve heard and read the Gospel accounts hundreds of times, so it’s quite a challenge for me to remain focused at points. Even with that, God opens up these beautiful moments where you read something a little different than you had before…which is totally what happened when my eyes traveled past Mark 2:9.
Mark 2 opens with the story of the paralytic man. Four of his friends believed so fervently Jesus could heal him, that they dug a hole in some dude’s roof just to get their friend in the presence of Jesus. Let’s just stop there for a second: do I care that much about my friends to get them to Jesus? Geeze…I don’t know. That was a free gut punch.
Anyway, Jesus sees the faith of the friends and then stuck up Synagogue snobs start saying Jesus is blaspheming because He said He could forgive this guy’s sins.
Mark 2:9 Jesus says:

Which is easier to say to the paralytic, “Your sins are forgiven”; or to say, “Arise and take up your pallet and walk”?

I stopped there and thought, both take the same faith. This is a rhetorical question. Both are impossible in our natural, finite reality. A paralyzed man isn’t supposed to get up and walk. Natural logic says the odds are against this guy. The same goes for sin. By our nature, we are born into sin. We aren’t supposed to be free from that. The man couldn’t be healed by trying harder to walk, nor can we be saved by trying harder not to sin. It’s the grace and mercy of an infinite God who makes what looks to be impossible, possible.

I picture the man at Jesus’ side, with the scribes watching in the crowd. I see Him look each one of them in the eye after He makes His statement. And with an air of confidence, like a smack in the face to those looking on, Jesus turns back the the paralytic and says, “I say to you, rise, take up your pallet and go home.”

He forgave his sins already, and by that same faith, the man got up and walked out the door.

Jesus didn’t mess around. Blows me away every time.
I love this guy.

Leave a Reply

