Guess What?

I don’t know that you clicked on the link to this blog surprised to find what I’m about to tell you:

Bridget Vogel is moving…………again.

Barack Obama and I are similar in at least one way. We both hold fast to an identical life slogan: Change.

Try as I might, God isn’t allowing me to do any sort of settling. Maybe he knows that if I settle, I will only lose momentum. Maybe he knows that if he doesn’t keep me on the edge of my seat, I’ll get bored. Apparently, God said “I’m creating Bridget Vogel and not letting her ever get comfortable.”

Hey God, you’re awesome. I’m finding that I rather like living the adventuresome life with you.

If I can make one point from this post, it’s on the subject of redemption.

A few months ago, I was at a turning point. I knew God was calling me back to ministry and I knew he was telling me to let go of my so-called career. I applied to two different training programs: one in Charleston and one in the upstate of South Carolina. Though I didn’t know, and will never know the outcome of the one, I knew I was supposed to move to the upstate. My heart was drawn there in a very powerful way. However, a couple of weeks before my interview, things began to happen.

When I say things, let’s define them as “opportunities that would, in every way, make me think leaving Charleston was completely asinine.”

I took these things as signs that I needed to stay put. And so, without even going through the process to allow God to direct my steps, I determined the Lord was saying not to leave Charleston. I closed the door immediately. While I was happy for a moment, I knew that it wasn’t what I should have done. I let my own desires and pride determine my path.

However, God is faithful: faithful to get me back on track.

I began my internship in Charleston and discovered I love working for Newspring. I found that, yes, I am called to ministry. Yes, I love this church. Yes, I love THE Church. And yes, I want to serve her in the best way I can. The irony came when every one of the opportunities I made reference to ceased to exist. I found myself again trudging through mud, still desirous to hold on to something God had specifically told me to completely abandon.

This past month has been an emotional roller-coaster. Instead of living out of freedom in my calling, I was just making things work. I remember my mind’s eye looking around, unsure of how I got to the middle of nowhere. I had everything wonderful around me: a great church, amazing friends, a fantastic downtown home, and yet I hated my life. Why? Because I only said “maybe” to God.

After traveling back and forth between Charleston and the upstate numerous times the last month, my heart again became heavy for Greenville. With many tears, cleansing worship sessions and important conversations, I determined God was giving me a second chance, but I had to fully surrender this time; fully surrender and fully obey.

The one thing I know is, come January 2013, I will be living in Greenville, South Carolina. I will start a second semester internship with our central worship team. But where I will work, where I’m going to live, and how I will survive is completely and entirely dependent upon the Lord. This was the story of Bridget Vogel’s life in May of 2010, and somehow, God came through. I can’t live in fear and doubt that he won’t do the same in this season.

There are many days of prayer ahead…a lot of uncertainty, a lot of walking into a situation I don’t know that I’m ready for. But, the best is yet to come. In that I’m completely confident.

Leave a Reply

