Clarification

Hey everyone!

This has been bothering me since I wrote that last blog, so I thought I would try and explain myself a bit better.

I want to make it clear that I believe beyond all doubt that God answers prayers.  The Bible is full of passages that speak about him hearing the cries of our heart.  He is not distant; He knows our every thought.  I think what I wanted to convey is that sometimes the things we pray for aren’t God’s best and He wants to give us His best.

He is faithful in all ways.  Sometimes that means He says no to our requests; sometimes, in His amazing grace and mercy those answers are yes!  Sometimes God asks us to do things that we don’t want to do.  But I believe that means He’s working out some kind of heart issue in us.  The point of our lives is to walk according to His purposes.  I don’t know what that means entirely, but I do know that involves complete surrender.

All of God’s promises will be fulfilled.  I want to position my heart so that my prayers and the requests I make known to the Lord are held with an open hand.  Because a “no” doesn’t mean He is unfaithful…it means that He has something better.

It’s kind of a complicated subject and I wanted to be sure to clarify.  I think that we should pray without ceasing, we need to make our requests known…that’s what the Bible says.  He wants us to talk to Him, to express our fears, our hurts, our joys, our thanks.  The big picture is too big for us to understand, so we have to have faith and trust to know God has our backs in all things.

So pray!  Pray with expectation that God hears you because He does.  Yet be reminded that His answers are not always what we think they will be.  Because all of his promises are true.  He wants the best.

Did I just confuse you more?  I think I’m trying not to confuse myself!  This is only beginning to sink in. Feel free to comment and give your opinions.  As a finite being, I have difficulty understanding an infinite God.  When He begins to show me something I don’t quite understand, it takes a while to wrap my little brain around it.  Thank you for your grace as I try to understand!

 

B

Leave a Reply

