Encouragement

Psalm 94:19

When my anxious thoughts multiply within me, Your consolations delight my soul.

His consolations or rather, His comfort, compassion, at the root, His very breath, that is, His Word, is pleasing to my soul.

Tonight my thoughts are many.  Tonight I’m nervous and have placed my focus on things that don’t matter.  And just as the psalmist writes, it is only the Word of the Lord that will truly comfort me.  I hope, if you’ve found yourself in a similar place, these words will bring you comfort as well.

Psalm 57:1-3

Be gracious to me, O God, be gracious to me, for my soul takes refuge in You; and in the shadow of your wings I will take refuge, until destruction passes by.  I will cry to God Most High, to God who accomplishes all things for me.  He will send from heaven and save me; He reproaches him who tramples upon me.  God will send forth His mercy and His truth.

Psalm 57: 7-11

My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast; I will sing yes I will sing praises!  Awake my soul! Awake harp and lyre, I will awaken the dawn!  I will give thanks to You, O Lord, among the peoples; I will sing praises among the nations.  For Your mercy is great to the heavens, and Your truth to the clouds.  Be exalted above the heavens, O God; let Your glory be above the earth.

Psalm 62:1-2

My soul waits in silence for God only; from Him is my salvation.  He only is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I shall not be greatly shaken.

Psalm 55:16-18; 22

As for me, I shall call upon God, and the Lord will save me.  Evening and morning and at noon, I will pray and cry aloud, and He will hear my voice.  He will redeem my soul in peace from the battle which is against me…

Cast your burden upon the Lord, and He will sustain you; He will never allow the righteous to be shaken.

Leave a Reply

