Emerald Almond Failure

The other day, I went to the store and found a good deal on Emerald roasted almonds. Two for one is always a good deal. I knew they were coated in something, but didn’t think to check the label.
Yesterday I ate a few handfuls of those almonds. The whole day I was groggy and foggy and couldn’t concentrate at all. I drank water, had a sweet potato and still couldn’t focus. So I looked at the label on the almonds. And surprise, surprise: they were coated in MSG.
Gah!!!
So I did something to save my almonds and get rid of the MSG crud.

Step 1: rinse almonds and bring to a boil. Reduce to soak.

20111220-123258.jpg

Step 2: rinse again

20111220-123419.jpg

Step 3: remove outer skins

20111220-123533.jpg

Step 4: place in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. Reduce temp to 300 for another 30-45minutes, stirring to roast

20111220-123646.jpg

Thanks a lot, Emerald, for ruining perfectly good almonds with horrible chemicals…but inspiring me to fix your mistakes in a healthier way.

Leave a Reply

