Chasing the Wind

Fame is such a strange phenomenon. Because the general human race is so insecure, not finding our true identity in God, we have to create this weird hierarchy, comparing ourselves to each other by exalting some and demeaning the rest. It blows my mind because it’s all based on materialism. Who has more money, who’s on the cover of magazines, who ends up in the news, has a sitcom, appears in more movies…seriously. And when we take our last breath, it all stays here…as the title of one of my favorite plays I was in told me, You Can’t Take it With You.
Over the last couple of days, since coming home from this trip, quite a few people have come up to me saying, so when are you leaving to get famous? I try to clarify there is no promise of fame in this move; I’m going to take some steps on a path God has called me to, but fame…? I mean, I appreciate all the support and those of you who believe in me enough to think that the music I write will have that great of an impact, but that’s not what it’s about at all.
Jesus talks about this in Matthew (16:25-26) as He explains the reality of following Him. He basically tells us, if you want the stuff of this world, go ahead. Your life is worth nothing and you’ll lose it anyway. But if you desire Me above all of that, you may not have a lot, but the life you will have with Me is far better than one without.
“For what will a man be profited if he gains the whole world, and forfeits his soul? Or what will a man give in exchange for his soul?”
Of course I struggle with the idea! I won’t sit here writing as one who has never thought of what it would be like to actually have an album go triple platinum, to make appearances on shows, to have songs on the radio, to play for thousands. My friend Jaci sent me something yesterday, reminding me of 1 John 2:15-17 and that last verse confirmed what I’ve been thinking about these last few days, “The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.”
We are a vapor…our lives are pretty meaningless, and I don’t say that to discourage anyone from following dreams. What I’m saying is, we have to make the most of the time that we are given, not giving into the lie that what we have is the ultimate definition of who we are. And we have to do everything as unto our Father, remembering that we are simply dust, and we have no right to take the glory for ourselves. We didn’t create our bodies, we didn’t give ourselves the mind, the creativity, the ability…
Its been my prayer the last couple of days for myself and for some of my fellow creative people who are getting more recognition than expected, that God would protect our mind and heart. That He would keep us humble and remind us that it is through Him we have accomplished these things. I pray we reflect Jesus more than we try to get ahead because again, what good is it if we have the whole world and lose ourselves while living…or worse, after we die? I pray we stop chasing the wind…

I don’t mean to sound uber religious…but you tell me if any of it sustains your life through trial and heartache? As believers, our relationship with God is the most important thing. He is our only hope, our only source of life.

Leave a Reply

