Practical Frustration

What is practical?
For the past few weeks, I’ve been trying to differentiate between faith and defiance of reality. My life has shifted and I feel as though I’m finally becoming the person I’ve always desired to be. But this person fights reality – her dreams get stifled with the realization of duty. The Bible says that the heart is deceitful above all else…so what does it mean to follow your heart? Can we and still be in the will of God?
All I want to do is let go. My heart’s desire is to be free, to find what it is to live without restriction and without limitation. On the one had, God told Abraham to pick up and go without explaining why. On the other, God showed Joseph the future and made him wait it out through trial after trial. This shows me we are not cookie-cutter beings.
How am I to follow my heart’s desire (God) and still live practically…when everything takes away from Him and where I feel Him leading me? It’s frustrating. Are you getting that? Maybe it’s because I’m starting to understand that I’m after something far greater than this world, even greater than my dreams. That One Thing that just keeps tugging on my heart, waiting for me to give Him the time of day. If I just focus on Him, I think He will make sense of it all.
I’m again reading The Shack (funny as I picked it up on my way to Holland this time one year ago) and a quote really stuck out to me. I will leave my thoughts at this:
“A bird’s not defined by being grounded but by his ability to fly. Remember this, humans are not defined by their limitations, but by the intentions that I have for them, not by what they seem to be, but by everything it means to be created in My image.” – Papa

Leave a Reply

