Fading

I take a deep breath in,
Slowly exhale.
Trying to maintain my gaze
upon the dimming, distant light
Because all sense fails me

I stand…with the world
on shoulders too weak to bear it
Inhale. Exhale.
My breath continues
as I fight for one ounce of understanding
to ease my troubled mind

I fall
I crawl
Eyes fixed upon the distant, dimming light
Thought I succeed in inches, not miles
I press through
Knees upon broken glass
Palms upon gravel
I continue with my breath

My strength lets me down
But it is not by might, nor by power
Where is the joy?
Where is the life?
Where is the peace?
It is in the fading light.

Leave a Reply

