Cupid?

Saturday is fast approaching…it’s true.  Some people refer to this Saturday as Singles Awareness Day.  It is more commonly known as Valentine’s Day.  And being as the 14th day of February has again decided to make an appearance on our calendars, I would take a moment to reflect.

I am surprisingly happy with where I am.  I have been feeling down about a lot of things lately, but I think this year, praise God, it has nothing to do with being single.  As my best friend put it, we shouldn’t need a day to tell someone we love, I love you.  It should happen daily – in our speech and actions.  Now, there is no other love floating around in my life other than what I feel for my family and very close friends (agape and phileo), but you get the point.

What has been on my mind lately are the ponderings of what it will be like to finally be in that place of knowing I’ve met the person I will spend the rest of my life with.  A couple of weeks ago, I watched Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and it made something in my heart leap.  Okay, maybe that was cheesy.  Anyway, besides the fact that my dad doesn’t own one of the most famous studios in America, I felt a lot like Norah.  Watching the incredibly fantastical story develop over the course of a few hours in these characters’ lives did cause me to long for such a story of my own.

Hear me out…I understand it was just a story but it struck a chord with me.  Not only in how they became friends but especially when Nick told her in the end how beautiful she was even though  she couldn’t acknowledge it herself…that maybe by the world’s standards she wasn’t the most gorgeous woman in the world, but by his, she captured his heart.  Wow…that’s a nice dream to have.

And so here comes the day dedicated to chocolate eating, flower giving, and little Roman gods and goddesses who have too much time on their hands.  In all of it, I have to remember who to give my love to…and it all comes back to Him: the Lover of my soul – the One who is captivated when He looks at me – the man who gave His own life just to save me.  What greater love is there than this?  Oh how I desire to grasp this…to understand that I can be completely fulfilled in Him, by His unfailing love…for He will never leave me, nor forsake me.  He won’t disappoint me or ever break my heart.  No, this One is worthy of my whole heart and I pray I have no reservations in giving it to Him.

Enjoy tomorrow, and remember His love which is so freely given and cannot be taken away…

B

One thought on “Cupid?

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day Bridget!

    I just “happened” by your blog and was sufficiently intrigued to read 10-12 of your posts. Kudos! You write well and get your points across clearly. It is easy to tell you have been been going through some rough emotional rapids of late. I empathize.

    From the vantage point of more than triple your age, I can look back retrospectively and see that events which seemed to be so earth shattering at the time – really weren’t that great after all. As you well know, patience is not only a virtue but a fruit of the Spirit. Not all these fruit develop at the same rate or with the same level of spiritual effort involved. (I still have not totally developed the fruit of self-control. Perhaps that is why it is listed last?)

    Both the Lord and time can heal all wounds – but not if you reopen them. You may need to forgive someone who has hurt you deeply before more than surface healing can begin. If you have a book of “stamps” of the hurts you have received over the years, I encourage you to give them to Jesus one by one. Then let them go. Your hurts become His – not yours for He cares so deeply for YOU. Ask the Comforter who resides within you for comfort and guidance in these matters. Those are but some of the reasons He is there for you! The Spirit will bring to remembrance things you have forgotten.

    Like Barnabas, I want to be an encourager to you. If it is in God’s plan for you to be married, then you will be – but only in His perfect timing. You can be assured of this. Since you are a Christian woman, you would only consider being yolked with a fellow Christian man. The best places I know to meet Christians is to frequent where Christians gather: church, conferences, Christian coffee houses, etc. Of course beware of wolves in sheep’s clothing!

    I am a retired missionary and am in the process of trying to figure out how to start a blog. Its name will be Quo Vadis? (Where Are You Going?). If you like, I will let you know when it is open. I would welcome your feedback.

    Many blessings from,

    James

    Now to Him who is able to keep you from stumbling,
    And to present you faultless
    Before the presence of His glory with exceeding joy,
    To God our Savior,
    Who alone is wise,
    Be glory and majesty,
    Dominion and power,
    Both now and forever.
    Amen.
    (Jude 24-25)

    Like

Leave a Reply

