First

There’s nothing like the holidays to remind me that I’m still single.  The couples walking hand in hand through a beautifully decorated mall while a pianist plays her favorite carols.  The songs telling of holiday romance, staying warm by the fire because, baby, it’s cold outside.  Of course it’s silly, but I will be the first to admit that it’s still kind of depressing.  Unfortunately, the more I think about it, the more I realize I have to find myself in the Lord.  This, too, has proved difficult.
This snow leaving me stranded in my home, unable to go anywhere or do much of anything really makes me antsy.  When people call upset with their similar situation I tell them that maybe the Lord is trying to slow us down a bit.  Do I listen to myself?  Not really until tonight.  God gently reminded me that I’ve been ignoring Him in the midst of this week and all it’s craziness.  I have pushed Him aside in hopes for something better: another activity, another movie, another glass of wine.
I think that if I learn to devote myself to the One who will bring me all the satisfaction and love I will ever need, I will be a better, more stable person for it.  So I asked Him why I let silly worries like relationships get to me.  I don’t want to desire a man more than God as it has proved to only hurt me in the long run.  I’ve asked the Lord to close my eyes to the “possibilities” and only open them to His promise.  I want to desire the Lord first.
God, I give my loneliness and sadness to You, and ask that You replace it with your joy which is my strength.  I want to learn to be anxious for nothing, but in everything, by prayer and petition present my requests to You.  It is then that Your peace, which passes all understanding, will guard my heart and mind because it no longer becomes my worry.  (Philippians 4:6-7)
I am also reminded of when Jesus tells us to also be anxious for nothing in this life.  God cares for the birds of the air and we are so much more important to Him than they are.  He asks in Matthew 6:27 which of you can add any extension to your life by being anxious?  I love that because it’s so true. God knows our deepest longings, our deepest fears and worries.  The cool thing is how He will take care of it all when we ask Him to.  I just forget to ask.  Jesus says in verse 33, “seek first His kingdom and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you.”
I truly believe, and want to encourage those of you struggling in this area, that when we seek the Lord first every day; when we present our requests to Him, when we ask Him what He will have for us each day, His peace will flood us like a river.  It is in this that our minds will ignore the anxious thoughts and let the Lord work everything out.  Whether it’s seeing Him provide for me financially or finding the right husband for me, I have to seek Him first…in ALL things.
So I can let the holidays get me down, but I can also remember that God is bigger than that.  He is my joy and my strength, He is the One who loves me beyond understanding.  He comforts me, protects me and provides for me.  And while I can’t give Him a huge hug or sit and watch a movie with Him, we can talk every moment of every day.  I can give all my anxiety to Him because He said He’d take care of it.  Try and remind yourself to put Him first every day and everything will take care of itself.

Blessings,

Bridge 🙂

2 thoughts on “First

Leave a Reply

