The Floods

Last week, I was praying and asking the Lord what to read in His Word. I kept hearing Psalm 193…and I was like, uh, God, there is no Psalm 193. I thought, maybe I’m a little dyslexic and God spoke backwards. I know that Psalm 139 has always been inspiring, but as I read it, I didn’t get much revelation. God? Psalm 193? Okay…
Anyway, I realized that there was a Psalm 93 (der), so a couple of days later I dove into it. And now, I’m getting where the “1” came from. This passage of scripture is two-fold for me, and I hope that this inspires you in both ways!
Psalm 93:1 says “The Lord reigns, He is clothed with majesty; the Lord has clothed and girded Himself with strength; Indeed, the world is firmly established, it will not be moved.”
I don’t know about you, but this season in my life, and quite frankly, in this world is kind of chaotic. There is so much uncertainty that I often find myself worrying more than praying. There are moments where I trust God has it all under control; however, most of the time, I am sitting here wondering how I’m going to be okay. I mean, there are crazy fires in California – since 1904 it hasn’t been this bad. The economy is crashing in our own country, in Britain, and elsewhere. How are we, in our feeble human minds, not to be scared. If we have no hope in God, it’s easy.
I believe that here, God was reminding me that He is girded with strength. You know, our world is mostly against the notion of God, but we can establish Him as the center of our own lives. I can say, that my world – the people I meet, my job, my home, etc. – is established and will not be moved. I can have faith that God’s is True and Everlasting because it goes on to say that His throne is established from old – that He is from everlasting to everlasting. And I believe that as we live out this confidence in Him, so many others will be intrigued and want to know the Rock we cling to.
I read on, and the Psalm speaks of how the floods have lifted up their voices. As a reference to water, this didn’t make a lot of sense to me. The word “floods” is the Hebrew (5104) word for a flowing stream which surrounds something. So the streams life up their voice? Hmmm…the root of this word is “nahar” (5102) which means to flow together as one and also is used to describe being glad or having gladness of face.
Now let me put this all together: as a body, God is reminding us to not look around at our own circumstances – to not be discouraged or distraught in the uncertainty of life. Right now, He is urging us to remember that He is the Name above all other names; the He reigns and is clothed with majesty; that He is girded with strength and in Him the world is firmly established. We must sing of this – flow in this revelation together as one. We have to walk our our days rejoicing and showing the world, in unison as believers, that God is good and His mercy endures forever. Yes, there will be trials and tribulations…there will be the days when the shit hits the fan and we can’t do anything about it. But, may I remind you that He is sovereign. If we can put this very thing into practice, the atmosphere will shift. Verse 5 says that His testimonies will be fully confirmed. People will run to this…but we have to flow in it together.
So, encourage your brothers and sisters. Remind them of this verse – remind them that they can do all things through Christ, that the joy of the Lord is their strength, that He turns our mourning into dancing, that He is our Provider. Amen, amen, and amen. Don’t shut down because of what you see…and if you see a brother falling, go and lift him up. This is the season to come together, and flee from independence. If we don’t, we won’t have much to live for.
Blessings,
B 🙂

Leave a Reply

