Everything in Time

Everything in Time
My emotions have kind of overwhelmed me and I desperately need to write to get my mind off of the condition of my heart.
I just flipped to Ecclesiastes 3:11 – another favorite of mine. As I read the passage, however, the Lord reminded me of something I vowed to do after this last election. I told myself that I couldn’t go back to living my life as usual. I wanted everything that I do – in secret and in public – to be glorifying to Him. I’ve made a lot of stupid mistakes with my heart, even in the past couple of days, so this is a great reminder. The passage goes like this:
I have seen the task which God has given the sons of men with which to occupy themselves. He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in their heart, yet so that man will not find out the work which God has done from the beginning even to the end. I know that there is nothing better for them than to rejoice and do good in one’s lifetime; moreover, that every man who eats and drinks sees good in all his labor – it is the gift of God.
Ecclesiastes 3:10-13

God gives each of us so many opportunities to walk out what He has placed inside us. I really believe we need to change our mindsets in this respect. Every conversation could make an impact. Every look, every text, e-mail, coffee that you buy (or make for someone). Everything we do must be unto the Lord so that His name might be glorified in all things. We don’t know what God has in store. He tells us that His ways are not our ways; His thoughts are not our thoughts. I can get so caught up in where I’m at that I forget how my actions are affecting others.
There is nothing better for us, as believers, than to rejoice in everything we do – that we do it unto the Lord with praise and thanksgiving. We need to try and stay away from negativity and from things that would demean people, rather than lift them up. And we need to be obedient to the Lord in everything. We have free will, but there is something about getting up every morning and asking Him what He desires us to do today. I’m so guilty of not doing this…
I think that this is one of the hardest things to accomplish because we are human, but God is so much greater than the faults of our humanity. When we ask for His joy, he replaces our sorrow. When we ask for His strength, He trades in our weakness. I am so thankful that, though I make mistake after mistake after mistake, He is there to pick me up, give me a quick crack on the behind (to remind me not to fall again), and sends me on my way to try again.
He makes everything beautiful in its time. We need to be the ones initiating it in our own lives, so He can take what is simply good and turn it into something beautiful.

Leave a Reply

