She is Broken

I’d written this back in October, but realized I never took the time to share it with you. As I’m going back over my notes, I’ve found that right now is as good a time as any to bring it up. God really has been speaking to me through the words of Isaiah, as you may have noticed. This excerpt and analysis comes from Isaiah 47 – the Destruction of Babylon:

This passage of scripture really stood out to me. I know it is referring to the daughter of Babylon, but so much of it seems to express the dealings of this nation. America is failing economically and spiritually, morally and governmentally. This scripture seems to paint a picture of our very situation.
“For you will no longer be called the queen of kingdoms” (vs 5). But she said, “I will be a queen forever” (vs 7). She has exalted herself above God saying, “I am and there is no one besides me. I shall not sit as a widow, nor shall I know the loss of children.” God goes on to tell her, however that “these two things shall come to you suddenly in one day: loss of children and widowhood… despite your power” (vs 8-9). Wow…
And here we sit: men and women dying in wars – wives losing husbands, husbands losing wives, mothers losing children. And 50 million babies later, we’ve become childless with the epidemic of abortion.
“And you felt secure in your wickedness saying, ‘no one sees me.’ Your wisdom and your knowledge have deluded you; for you have said in your heart, ‘I am and there is no one like me.'” (vs 10). But God, and God alone is He that has all power and authority. He warns the nation and urges her to look to alternative methods for deliverance. In many ways, I find God somewhat sarcastic here because He reveals that these ways will also burn away in the end. “You have wandered in your own way. There is none to save you” (vs 15).

America has turned into an adulterous nation. She turns away from her work and looks to prostitution as a way of maintaining her power. Which is interesting as seduction only appears to be a way to have power; in reality, it is through this practice that a woman is destroyed – and so she is, as no human, no god, no idol or act can save her. The only hope she has is in the One who gave her life, who gave her opportunity. Without Him, we find we are powerless.

Right now, she is in the phase of thinking and believing that she is powerful – she can do what she wants because it is her life. I know that in the coming years, however, she will relent. Things will get so bad (when her idols and practices fail her) that she will only be able to reach out to the One who created her. She will acknowledge that, without Him, she is powerless. And maybe this is why we’ve found ourselves here.

Leave a Reply

