If My People

The news came not long after our poles in Washington closed: Barack Omama – 44th President of the United States. Safe to say that my heart broke in a million pieces; the tears began to well up in my eyes and I found myself asking God, “what did we do wrong?”
Nothing…but the cries in this nation did drown out the cries for mercy.

It was almost as if something shifted in the atmosphere around me. I watched as so many supporters of Obama prayed and walked church sanctuaries – I watched them gather in Chicago – I watched as the media plastered testimonies of his good graces and accomplishments across their screens. So many Christian people deceived. I’m sure that the man, Barack Obama is a good man, and I am proud of this nation for making history by electing the first African American president. However, I am amazed by the vast number of people that claim to know the word of God and yet elect a man whose values rarely reflect it. I believe that this is why my heart broke.

I was reminded of a story in 1 Samuel 8. Samuel was a judge and a prophet. People respected this man and the decisions he made in the land. He appointed his sons as judges over Israel, but they became dishonest and made horrible choices. The people came together and asked for a king to judge Israel “like all other nations.” However, this displeased Samuel, so he prayed.
God answered him and said:
“Listen to the voice of the people in regard to all that they say to you, for they have not rejected you, but they have rejected Me from being king over them. Like all the deeds they have done since the day I brought them up from Egypt event to this day – in that they have forsaken Me and served other gods – so they are doing to you also. Now then, listen to their voice; however, you shall solemnly warn them and tell them of what is to come.”
And Samuel warned the people of what would happen as a result of this king they asked for: they would cry to the Lord but He would not answer. But the people didn’t care. They wanted someone to judge them and go before them in battle because, obviously, God couldn’t do this or wasn’t doing it good enough for their liking. So the people were appointed a king.

We’ve bowed down to the gods of fame, sex, and independence. We have sacrificed our children in the name of feeling good. We have perverted sacred things, and have now even allowed assisted suicide in the land. But we are subject to the governing authorities. May I remind you, however, that “there is no authority except from God, and those which exist in authority are established by God.” Romans
13:1
The Lord is not stupid – He knew this was coming. But I must ask why we have allowed ourselves to come to this point. We cannot go back and change the past, but we can affect the future. Our voice may be taken away as things that are not of God are called right. We might see the economy crash and our nation get involved in an even greater war, but God is still God. “Change” will be far different than any of us imagined. You can’t go wrong with using that word – good or bad. All our President-elect has promised us is the inevitable; the one constant in life is change.

But watch and see…the proof is in the pudding.

And this is the time to pray. In fact, I don’t think I want to go back to living my life as usual anymore. I really can’t. It’s all or nothing and I will not be the one too afraid to open my mouth when push comes to shove. It’s time to prepare the way of the Lord – to learn what it is to be One in the Spirit – One as God, the Son and the Holy Spirit are One. That’s the way we will make it through this.

God is God – I am not

B

2 thoughts on “If My People

  1. Hello,

    I would like to point out that your title is “if my people” and indeed to me it seems that all God’s people cried out to him on this one. It’s funny how many conservatives overlook/underestimate just how fervently people prayed for Obama, not just for his victory per se, but his protection, for guidance and for God’s grace over his life during the campaign. Obama is not God, but the idea that those that support him don’t know God’s “Word” is or that Obama’s values do no reflect it, is an interesting one to say the least. Whose/which partie’s or individuals values reflect those of God’s in your opinion?

    Perhaps I have misunderstood but you do indeed seem to be linking your political leanings with religion. Its your right, but it’s a hard pill to swallow. NO ONE knows God’s words intentions in their entirety. We are all trying as best know how, some more than others are better at this, to understand and implement his WORD, rules etc. Indeed, God is God. We are not. So I wonder how you as a human being can make the value judgement of whether or not an individuals values line up with Gods. That smacks of hubris.

    I certainly don’t agree with you AT ALL on the Barack Obama election as a sign of the perils to come or America’s failures, but rather God setting things right after years of cheap religious shrouded in lip-service… but I digress. I am neither Dem nor Repub, I see no man as perfect, but I know that I have my own sensibilities and subjectivities that influence me as they do each of us.

    God is God and we are not. That is THE truth.

    perhaps this is or isn’t the place to say this, and perhaps I am invading your space, but I find your blog intriguing. Your writing is reflective and I like that. I apologize for any effrontries, but I do act on impulse and feel the need to express myself. I hope this is a welcome discussion of your post

    Like

  2. Thank you for your response. I appreciate someone taking the time to read and reflect on what I’ve written. I very much respect your views, opinions, and the fact that you very much disagree with what I believe. In fact, this is good as I find far too many people take things at face value.
    I must remind you of the story I shared in 1 Samuel about the people crying out for a king. You see, they were given what they asked for; that doesn’t necessarily mean this person is the one God would choose to rule a nation. It might be a man chosen to bring a nation to repentance. I do not claim to know the Word of God inside and out. I am but a follower of Jesus, and a lover of God. I do know that the Lord loves Barack Obama, but He does not love some of his policy especially regarding morality. I know the Lord is grieved over the shedding of innocent blood and perversion that runs rampant in this nation. I know that He desires real relationship with His children, but that has been distorted by the very people you highlight: those who speak with “cheap religious shrouded in lip-service.” I totally agree with you.
    If the Bible is the Word of God, it would seem to me that God’s values are reflected in its passages. This is where I can base my, what you may call “judgments.” I have no right to judge man for we are all imperfect. I am simply trying to connect what I read in His word with what I see taking place in the world. I am not trying to persuade anyone to believe this as right or wrong for each person must find this for themselves. I am simply processing.
    Again, thank you very much for commenting. I think you should continue to let your voice be heard and I encourage you to continue your search for truth because it WILL eventually lead you to the ultimate truth. All the best to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

